Friday, July 7, 2017

Designed to Go The Distance

It’s Not About The Creativity. It’s About The Career.

Designed to Go The Distance touches upon many career and lifestyle issues specific to those in creative career fields – cultural topics that are not often talked about or adequately prepared for.

Think of this book more as a late-night barstool or coffeehouse conversation between two creatives. A creative “pep talk” so-to-speak. And just like any pep talk in life, these pages provide a healthy serving of food-for-thought, as well as a few tips along the way, too.

Whether you are a graphic designer, artist, fashion designer, songwriter or a solo entrepreneur - or even a non-creative who needs to understand the mentality and culture more in-depth, Designed to Go The Distance is sure to be an engaging and informative read. 

Chapter 1: Square Pegs in a World of Round Holes
Chapter 2: Introverts, Extroverts, and Creativity
Chapter 3: Getting Comfortable With Risk
Chapter 4: The Inconvenient Nature of Creativity
Chapter 5: Establishing a Philosophy
Chapter 6: Bridging The Creative Divide
Chapter 7: Your Obligation to Non-Conformity
Chapter 8: The Emotional Intelligence Advantage
Chapter 9: The Benefits of Boundaries
Chapter 10: Understanding Comfort Zones
Chapter 11: Understanding Burnout
Chapter 12: Balancing Career and Life
Chapter 13: Handling Criticism Like a Pro
Chapter 14: When Side Projects Just Make Sense
Chapter 15: Depression and The Creative Pro
Chapter 16: The Final Word: Paying it Forward

What Readers Are Saying About The Book:

“Solid advice without any fluff”
“Great coping tips for creative types”
“A must-read for all creative professionals”
“Very interesting information for a non-creative”
“Give to spouses/partners of creatives!”
“Highly recommended”






BUY THE BOOK FROM AMAZON  |  BAM  |  ALIBRIS



ABOUT THE AUTHOR



Mitch Dowell is the author of “Designed to Go The Distance: A Survival Guide for the Creative Professional,” and has been involved in visual branding, design and creative marketing for over 20 years.



After having worked for a variety of tech startups during the dot-com and post-dot-com boom, in 2008, Mitch founded Branding Experiences –  a consumer-facing marketing, branding and design company in the Baltimore/DC metro area – spending nearly a decade helping U.S. and Canadian small businesses in a wide range of business sectors leverage a mindset to better make a connection with their target audiences.



Among many marketing disciplines, his primary focus is on the initial, visual branding experience and leads organizations to adopt a more consumer-friendly, outside-looking-in marketing approach.

Mitch is often sought out by mainstream and business media for his expertise on the topics of marketing, branding and design, and is frequently booked for speaking engagements on similar topics.
 

Thursday, July 6, 2017

Lazy Days of Summer $250 Giveaway



 

Lazy Days of Summer $250 Giveaway  

July 6th to 26th

 

  Thanks to this fabulous group on bloggers and authors for joining me to bring you this awesome giveaway. Enter for your chance to win $250 in Paypal Cash or a $250 Amazon Gift Card.    


Sponsor List


I Am A Reader
Helen Smith
Rainy Days and Pajamas
Aubrey Wynne: Timeless Love
Julie Coulter Bellon
Rebecca Talley
Simple Wyrdings
The Lovely Books
Karmack by JC Whyte
More Than a Review
Heather Gray, Author of Inspirational Romance
Jennifer Faye ~ Romance Author
Dawn Malone, Author
Krysten Lindsay Hager
Jo Noelle
Sweet & Sassy Books
B. Kristin McMichael
Caroline Clemmons
AJourneyWithoutMap
Glistering: B's Blog
BookHounds
Hooked to Books - Book and Reading Gadget Reviews
Lori's Reading Corner
Author Alecia Stone
Laurie Here - Cont Fiction and More
K.N. Lee
Huithiang!
Geybie's Book Blog
Author Crystal Marcos
Author Felicia Starr
Everly Frost, YA Author
Donna K. Weaver
Terry Deighton - Children's Author
Anna del C. Dye
Inger Iversen
Rachelle J. Christensen
magicalcoolcatmystery
Konstanz Silverbow
Living Simply

 

Giveaway Details


$250 in Paypal Cash or a $250 Amazon.com eGift Card
Ends 7/26/17

Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use money sent via Paypal or gift codes via Amazon.com. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the authors, bloggers and publishers on the sponsor list. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.  

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, June 20, 2017

The Ghost of You and Me by Kelly Oram

The Ghost of You and Me by Kelly Oram

How do you tell someone who hates you and blames you for the death of his best friend that you miss him?

From the bestselling teen and young adult author of Cinder & Ella comes a new heart-wrenching romance sure to bring all the feels.

The tragic death of Spencer Schott unravels the lives of the two people he loved most—his girlfriend, Bailey, and his best friend, Wes. Secrets and guilt from that fateful night keep both Bailey and Wes from overcoming Spencer’s loss and moving on with their lives.

 Now, nearly a year later, both Bailey and Wes are still so broken over what happened that Spencer can’t find peace in the afterlife. In order to put his soul to rest, he’s given one chance to come back and set things right...even if that means setting up his girlfriend with his best friend.

With the emotional resonance of Jellicoe Road and the magical realism of The Lovely Bones, The Ghost of You and Me is a story about overcoming grief, finding redemption for past mistakes, and the healing power of friendship and love. Fans of John Green, Sarah Dessen, and Nicholas Sparks are sure to love this haunting new tale from Kelly Oram.

This is a clean young adult romance stand alone novel that reads like contemporary drama romance and has just a touch of magical realism.



 


Author Kelly Oram

Kelly Oram wrote her first novel at age fifteen--a fan fiction about her favorite music group, The Backstreet Boys, for which her family and friends still tease her. She's obsessed with reading, talks way too much, and likes to eat frosting by the spoonful. She lives outside of Phoenix, Arizona with her husband, four children, and her cat, Mr. Darcy.



     
$50 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash Giveaway
Ends 7/15/17
Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.
a Rafflecopter giveaway